Project 4: Montage

JonCattron-P4Montage-Train

  1. Description:  We were to make a montage from at least two images with a spiritual topic in mind, whether it be a quote, scripture, or a thought. There were to be no hard edges in the images that we add to the project.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, Steps taken while designing): I started off by thinking of general ideas of layout, where I might place the text, and what kind of message I wanted. After finding an image that fit both the layout and the topic, I searched for another picture that could add to the design, and used the clouds only.  I then duplicated the layers and reflected them to put lightly in the water. Later, I added birds to give more interest to the design, since it was rather weighted to the left side.  I found an image with stars and took the stars to put barely in the corners.  I then took the brush tool and made a dot, then smudged it enough to shape a shooting star, duplicated it twice, then added gaussian blur.  After rasterizing the text without realizing, I had to find a way to make the text more readable, so I used a paintbrush again and gaussian blur.  Something that I still want to understand is when center aligned text is acceptable. I was unsure of how to approach the text because of the word “your,” being that it was a word on its own based on alignment. This is something that I will change as I re-design these in the future.
  3. Message:  When I think of designs, I tend to focus on darker images, trying to appeal to the audiences that prefer somber or darker themes and give the design a thought of hope.  I had been thinking of ways to change this in the things I create, so I was happy to see the difference it made in the quote. The main message of the design is to be hopeful and happy in general because if we have faith, we should do our best to be optimistic about the things ahead.
  4. Audience: As I mentioned, I wanted this design to appeal to those who are seeking motivation to change their attitude and try to be optimistic as they work toward worthy goals.
  5. Top Thing Learned: I kept forgetting that I needed to click on the adjustment layer directly for the masking to work correctly, and I would turn off the other layers to edit just that picture. When I would realize that I was simply painting white on top of the image, I found that Photoshop begins to overwrite the steps which you can undo.  I learned from this that frequent saving is essential in order to not lose your work to any errors or accidents.
  6. Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied:  It was somewhat minor, but used in two different ways: First, to make the shooting stars, and second, to add a darker contrast behind the text, similar to an outer glow. The small birds that were added also used a gaussian blur.
  7. Color scheme and color names: The color scheme that would best fit this design is a complementary colors of orange and blue from the second-most inner layer, which was used for the shooting stars.
  8. Title Font Name & Category: Orator std Slanted – Sans-Serif
  9. Copy Font Name & Category: Trajan Bold – Modern, but not all serifs are horizontal.
  10. Thumbnails of Images used: 

Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site):

All pictures used are from Unsplash.com.

2 thoughts on “Project 4: Montage

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

