Major Changes: A Response to Sarah

An article that caught my eye was about changing majors called “Changing Your Major Doesn’t Have to Be Scary.”

The writer, Sarah Abdelkahlek, explains her feelings as she changed majors from biology to psychology. She wanted to pursue a doctorate degree, so it definitely sounds like she is committed.

She expressed her outlook on the change, and I think it summarizes at least a part of how we should make decisions about majors. She said, “Now that I switched my major and I know I want to be a clinical psychologist, I finally feel like I’ll be able to contribute to an area I’m passionate about, and that’s a very satisfying feeling.”

I love that! I think it’s important sometimes that we remember that even though some of the work that we do in our careers and majors are frustrating or don’t interest us at times, we can remember that at least we are “able to contribute to an area [we’re] passionate about.” I, personally, am passionate about being able to express one’s self in creative ways. I write music, poetry, draw, write stories, and (used to) keep a daily journal. There are so many things that we can share with others that will be of benefit to them in many ways. Of course, we don’t always agree with everything we read or hear, but I think it’s a beautiful thing to be able to freely express your views and dedicate yourself to a cause that you are passionate about.

I changed majors from Computer Engineering to Communication. I am a creative writer and artist by nature, and I want to be able to communicate my message to my readers so that they can grow from what I express or teach.

To me, it’s important to focus on the things that are uplifting, or learn from the things that aren’t so that I can help others. To be honest, that’s why I write poetry. I want whoever reads my poems to at least be able to relate to what I’m expressing. Good and bad feelings are ok to express! I’ve learned over the years that when you put up walls to filter yourself, or when you cut out the negative feelings from your writing, not only does the writing suffer, but so do the people around you in the sense that they can miss out on that feeling of identity when they need it. I never want someone to feel alone, and I’ve learned that no one is, truly, because someone around them has had a similar experience that can help them in their life.

I have written a lot about PTSD, depression, anxiety, OCD, loneliness, and a lot of other things that tend to relate to psychology and similar behaviors. It has been a wonderful feeling to be able to see how my writing affects others in a positive way. (I hope this doesn’t sound like bragging, but…) I have seen people change from a hopeless state to a hopeful state because of my writing, and have received personal thanks for writing what I do.

I know I went off in a different direction with this post, but I think that the overall idea that I want to give from this week’s post is: When we pursue what we are passionate about, it benefits us and the world around us. If our career involves our passion, our wallet isn’t the only thing that grows happier, but ourselves as well.

My invitation is to find, follow, or help others fulfill their passion. Consider what you might be passionate about and then find ways to contribute to it; there are many people out there who will thank you.

Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

