Macro Photography

I am learning so much about photography as these 14 weeks fly by! I took all of these photos with one of the generic macro lenses that came with my camera.  I’ll have to play around with the camera a lot more to decide which result I like more–close-up filters or different lenses.

Here are this week’s photos of Macro:

A friend and I met and started brainstorming of simple things we could do. We started off with some water drops. We didn’t have an eye dropper, so we had some interesting things happen with streams of water, but nothing that we were looking for. I went in on lightroom just to expose the more important part, especially the water droplet. I will have to try this again with different backgrounds.

ISO 400, 18mm, f/14, 1/200
ISO 400, 18mm, f/14, 1/200

 

 

 

I like this one a lot more, but it’s more than just a drop of water; it’s a spoonful of water. I’d be interested to see one with one single drop where I actually timed it right.

ISO 400, 18mm, f/14, 1/200
ISO 400, 18mm, f/14, 1/200

Cut up some oranges to get some juice coming out of them. These were interesting. It gave me some good ideas to use flame because orange acid is flammable (kind of). I’ll try that in the future.

joncatmacro-6

 

 

I exposed a little of the left edge and lightly in the middle. Our speedlights were set to the right and left of the cutting board. This was pretty fun to see each picture as we took several within a few seconds.

ISO 400, 21mm, f/14, 1/200
ISO 400, 21mm, f/14, 1/200

We tried to time it right to get some of the spray of the celery as we chopped it. The problem was that we chopped it a few times without putting water on it. I still like the way this one turned out.

joncatmacro-3
ISO 400, 21mm, f/14, 1/200

This is the first macro shot I’ve ever taken. My roommate was just pulling a pizza out of the oven while I opened up that generic macro lens for the first time (didn’t even know I had it) I’m not sure if it’s that I like the composition of the photo or just the fact that it’s a pizza and I’m hungry, but I like this.

joncatmacro-1

 

 

 

Please feel free to give some feedback on here. I’m more than happy to know how anything can improve (especially composition because I still feel inexperienced in knowing what makes a good photo or how to arrange things)

Thanks for reading!

-H

 

2 thoughts on “Macro Photography

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

