Fine Art Print and Explanation

These are two pictures that I had printed on some 16×24 inch foam boards a few days ago. The top two pictures of the printing letters are from a photo I took at the Spori graphic design rooms at BYU – Idaho. I chose this picture because I have always been drawn to words more than anything else. I am constantly writing or thinking of writing and it is a passion of mine. In many ways, I feel that words are sacred because of what they can do. I have found comfort, motivation, and joy in words–especially while I am writing. This happens most often as I explore something that has been on my mind, and I felt that these letters best showed that idea of self expression through writing.

Original – Before edits to exposure on focal points and cropping, some levels adjustments to brightness
Edited – after edits to exposure on focal points and cropping, some levels adjustments to brightness

After edits and preparation for printing also wanted to print these bottom two because it was the first time that I took pictures and felt like I knew what I wanted to do. It was 3 a.m., and I had already spent about an hour spinning quarters and shining a flashlight on them for just a second, and then using my laser pointer and bike light to make some light painting. I do feel that it is very lacking in depth, and there is a lot that could be improved, but this photo is a landmark to my recently started hobby and skill.

Edited – After edits to exposure on focal point, some levels adjustments to brightness
Original – Before edits to exposure on focal points, some very minor levels adjustments to brightness

Something that I learned from this experience is that they will always print darker, and it really did. Darker than I thought, but I’m still happy with the turnout.

Here is a video of me explaining a little more of them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

